The University of Chicago Medicine - Comer Children's Hospital

Department of Pediatrics 2017 Annual Report

Developing Child



Development & Behavioral Pediatrics

  • Sarah Sobotka, MD, MSCP, received a three-year K12 faculty development award from CHeSS/AHRQ to study predictors of hospital readmissions for children with advanced medical technology dependency.  
  • Brad Stolbach, PhD, received ongoing SAMHSA funding for the University of Chicago REACT Program: Recovery and Empowerment After Community Trauma and for NCTSN Complex Trauma Treatment Network and led a workshop presentation on "The University of Chicago Medicine REACT Program: Recovery and Empowerment After Community Trauma" at the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry's 2017 Annual Meeting.
  • Michael Msall, MD, and Scott Hunter, PhD, received NICHD-ECHO funding to study the environment, epigenetics, neurodevelopment, and health of extremely preterm children at 15 to 18 years.
  • Peter J. Smith, MD, MA, was appointed to the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Section on Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics Executive Committee and to the Council on Children with Disabilities Executive Committee. 

Kennedy Center

Next: Neonatology